ASMSA instructor receives teaching honor

5 years ago

The Lewis E. Lyle Chapter of the Air Force Association has named Nick Seward its Chapter Teacher of the Year for the high school division.

Seward is a computer science instructor at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts.

He is also a coach of the school’s CyberPatriot competition team. The competition, sponsored by the Air Force Association, features teams of high school students interested in careers in cybersecurity or other science, technology, engineering or mathematics (STEM) disciplines. The teams compete to protect computer systems from cyber attacks.

 Schools nominate teachers for the award, and the chapter members vote on the nominees, said Larry Louden, the Lyle Chapter president. Louden and Morris Cash, the chapter’s secretary, presented the award plus a $250 prize to Seward this week.

Seward said he wasn’t expecting to receive the award. While he appreciates the recognition, Seward said he appreciated the support the Lyle Chapter gives ASMSA.

“What is cool is that the Air Force Association appreciates the school and what they are doing. They are staunch supporters of the school,” Seward said.

Seward said the CyberPatriot competitions are also a good tool to help educate ASMSA students.

“For those students who are interested in cyber forensics or cyber security, it’s great. Anything where they get that kind of exposure and help make them better in the future is great,” he said.

Cutline: Nick Seward, center, was named the Chapter Teacher of the Year for the high school division by the Lewis E. Lyle Chapter of the Air Force Association. Pictured from the left are Morris Cash, chapter secretary; Seward; and Larry Louden, chapter president.

« Back to News Archives

Upcoming Events


Prospective Students:

Click Here if you'd like to receive more information about ASMSA or have questions regarding the school and/or the admissions process.